Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview
2

Let's Paint Some Piggies

Exposing all my secrets and figuring out how to stop thumb pain!
2

Last weekend I hosted a fun workshop with SCBWI! It was three hours long and I had a blast rambling on and on. In preparation for it, I filmed this short walkthrough as a practice for the real thing and thought I’d post it here for you Cool Kids in case you missed the workshop!

Here are the materials I used to paint this:

And some links to these things:

In other news, I had a breakthrough with my hand!!! Remember how I’ve been plagued for years with thumb pain and I won’t shut the fuck up about it??

Well… I think I finally found one of the reasons for my recent flare up!

Turns out I’ve been pinching wrong all this time!!

While in the depths of my internet searching, I found an obscure workout booklet online for CMC joint injuries (what I have) and I was ENLIGHTENED. Here is one of the exercises they recommend that explains what I mean by I was pinching wrong!!!

Mindblow Mind Explosion GIF - Mindblow Mind Explosion Mind Blown - Discover  & Share GIFs

Hahahaha anyways, here are some more examples of how I was constantly fucking up my thumb by doing the wrong pinch motion:

AH! I know these images are super funny and cheesy with the clipart but I thought I would share it in case any of you out there are also dealing with thumb pain! You just have to flex your thumb when you’re pinching! Ah! It was so simple.

Or as my friend said so eloquently… do this 👌🏼 not 🤌🏼!

Anyways, I hope everyone has a lovely week!

Am I Doing This Right? is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

This post is for paid subscribers

Am I Doing This Right?
Cool Kids Club
Behind the scenes posts about working on picture books and illustration advice. Paid subscribers get exclusive access to sneak peeks on future projects!
Authors
Lian Cho